Insurance

“Pay how you drive” puts the brake on insurance premiums

INFORMATION
| By Andrea Auer |
Source: iStock / Geber86

New developments in technology are ushering in the arrival of new insurance products. One is “pay how you drive”, which is a further development of “pay as you drive” and plans that require the fitting of crash recorders. Comparis answers five key questions for you:

What is “pay how you drive”?

The car insurance plan “pay how you drive” (PHYD) is one in which a person’s driving style determines how high the premium is. Depending on the provider, a tracking device or smartphone may be used to record the driving behaviour (speed, braking, frequently used type of road etc.) of the policyholder and relay it to the insurance company for analysis. If the policyholder's driving style is considered “good”, the premium payable will be lower. However, this discount system does not punish “bad” driving either. In most cases, drivers receive a lower rate simply for using the tracking device.

Note: A basic premium is used to calculate the actual premium payable in each case. As this can vary from insurer to insurer, it’s a good idea to compare premiums.

How does it differ from “pay as you drive”?

A similar plan – “pay as you drive” (PAYD) – simply records the distance driven. With PHYD, the device may, depending on the plan, record how you accelerate, take corners and brake, as well as your speed and how long you drive without taking a break. Some providers also like to know at what times drivers are typically on the road, and what type of road they tend to use.

How does it differ from products based on crash recorders?

Unlike crash recorders, PHYD devices record all data. The use of telematics means that this data can even be transmitted to the insurer in real time. Crash recorders, on the other hand, only store data in the event of an accident – the information from the recorder is then analyzed manually by the insurance company after the accident. The main purpose of a crash recorder is to help identify the causes of an accident and where the blame might lie.

Which insurers offer usage-based insurance plans?

In Switzerland, there are currently five different providers of usage-based insurance products. Some insurers limit their product to particular target groups.

Company

Product name

Model

Who can benefit?

Axa

DrivePartner

Crash recorder

Young drivers up to 25 years

autoSense

FlexDrive (in German only)

Pay as you drive

All car drivers

Kasko2Go

Kasko2Go

Pay as you drive & pay how you drive

All car drivers

Swiss Mobiliar

CleverDrive (not available in English)

Pay how you drive

Young drivers up to 26 years

Vaudoise

Avenue Smart (not available in English)

Pay how you drive

Young drivers up to 30 years

What are the advantages of “pay how you drive”?

PHYD has two main benefits:

  • Lower premiums: you can usually get a lower premium just by installing the required tracking device.
  • Better driving habits: depending on the product, you can view your own driving style by means of an app, and use this information to improve your driving.

  • Compare car insurance now

    What are the disadvantages of “pay how you drive”?

    The two major drawbacks of PHYD are the price and the fact that personal driving style information is forwarded to the insurance company. However, given current levels of data transparency, the latter is not particularly unusual these days. Many car manufacturers, for instance, already know quite a bit about the driving habits of their car owners. On-board computers record driving data and often even the location.

Versicherung

Tiefere Versicherungsprämie dank «Pay How You Drive»

INFO
| von Andrea Auer |
Bild: iStock / Geber86

Mit neuen Technologien enstehen neue Versicherungsmodelle. Eines nennt sich «Pay How You Drive» und ist eine Erweiterung von «Pay As You Drive» sowie Crash Recordern. Comparis beantwortet für Sie fünf wichtige Fragen:

Was ist «Pay How You Drive»?

Beim Autoversicherungsmodell «Pay How You Drive» (PHYD) bestimmt der Fahrstil die Prämienhöhe. Anhand eines Fahrdaten-Aufnahmegeräts oder mittels Smartphone (je nach Anbieter) wird das Fahrverhalten (Geschwindigkeit, Bremsverhalten, häufig genutzte Strassenart, etc.) des Lenkers aufgezeichnet und zur Auswertung an die Versicherung übermittelt. Bei «gutem» Fahrverhalten erhält der Versicherte eine Prämienvergünstigung. Dank des Rabattsystems wird aber «schlechtes» Fahrverhalten nicht bestraft. In den meisten Fällen gibt es bereits eine Vergünstigung, wenn das Fahrdaten-Aufnahmegerät verwendet wird.

Wichtig: Die Ausgangslage der Prämie ist eine gewisse Grundprämie, welche von Anbieter zu Anbieter variiert. Daher ist ein Vergleich der Prämien wichtig.

Worin besteht der Unterschied zu «Pay As You Drive»?

Ein ähnliches Modell – «Pay As You Drive» (PAYD) – bezieht sich lediglich auf die Anzahl gefahrene Kilometer. Bei PHYD wird je nach Angebot das Beschleunigungs-, das Kurven- oder das Bremsverhalten, oder auch die Geschwindigkeit und Ruhepausen analysiert. Auch zu welcher Uhrzeit und auf welchen Strassen man am meisten unterwegs ist, spielt je nach Anbieter eine Rolle.

Worin besteht der Unterschied zu Crash Recordern?

Im Gegensatz zu Crash Recordern werden bei PHYD alle Daten gespeichert. Mittels Telematik können Daten gar in Echtzeit übertragen werden. Crash Recorder hingegen speichern die Daten nur im Falle eines Unfalles (Crash) – der Recorder wird dann nach einem Unfall manuell von der Versicherung ausgewertet. Der Zweck des Crash Recorders besteht hauptsächlich darin, Unfallhergänge bzw. deren Verschuldung zu klären.

Welche Anbieter von datenbasierten Versicherungsmodellen gibt es?

In der Schweiz gibt es zurzeit fünf verschiedene Anbieter von datenbasierten Versicherungslösungen. Einige Versicherer beschränken das Angebot auf gewisse Zielgruppen.

Anbieter

Produktname

Modell

Wer profitiert?

Axa

Drive Partner

Crash Recorder

Junglenker bis 25 Jahre

Auto Sense

Flex Drive

«Pay As You Drive»

Alle Autofahrer

Kasko2Go

Kasko2Go

«Pay As You Drive» & «Pay How You Drive»

Alle Autofahrer

Die Mobiliar

Clever Drive

«Pay How You Drive»

Junglenker bis 26 Jahre

Vaudoise

Avenue Smart

«Pay How You Drive»

Junglenker bis 30 Jahre

Was ist der Vorteil von «Pay How You Drive»?

PHYD hat hauptsächlich zwei Vorteile:

  • Prämien sparen: Meistens kann man bereits mit dem Einbau des Fahrdaten-Aufnahmegeräts von einer Prämienvergünstigung profitieren.
  • Fahrverhalten verbessern: Je nach Angebot kann man das eigene Fahrverhalten mittels App einsehen. Anhand dessen kann man am eigenen Fahrverhalten feilen.

  • Jetzt Autoversicherung vergleichen

    Was ist der Nachteil von «Pay How You Drive»?

    Der Preis von PHYD sind die Daten des eigenen Fahrstils, welche an die Versicherung übermittelt werden. Obwohl: Bei der heutzutage stark gestiegenen Datentransparenz ist dies nicht sehr aussergewöhnlich. So wissen beispielsweise viele Autohersteller so einiges über das Fahrverhalten der Autobesitzer. Der Bordcomputer sammelt die Fahrdaten und zeichnet oft sogar den Standort auf.

    Haben Sie alles verstanden? Machen Sie unser Quiz!