Health insurance in Switzerland

How to avoid excessive health care costs


What does the basic insurance cover? When do I need supplemental insurance? What is a deductible? Are you still confused when it comes to health insurance in Switzerland? Below you can find the most important information, explained in a comprehensible way.

The Swiss health insurance system


 

After moving to Switzerland, you have three months to take out the mandatory (basic) health insurance.

 

The key facts in a nutshell:

  • The health insurance provider can be freely chosen.
  • You can change your health insurance at the end of each year.
  • The benefits are identical with all providers.
  • The individual premium depends on one's place of residence, age, insurance model and deductible ("franchise").

 

The benefits cover the areas of:

  • Illness
  • Accident
  • Maternity

As an employee you are usually insured for accidents by your employer and can therefore exclude accident coverage.

 

It pays off to compare premiums before deciding on a provider as there are considerable differences between the health insurance companies.

As with taxes, it is your place of residence that determines how much you have to pay for your basic insurance. Thrifty people might therefore want to consider moving to a canton or region with low premiums.

 

Good to know:

Health insurance providers are required to accept every applicant for basic insurance.

Basic health insurance


 

When you live in Switzerland, taking out health insurance is mandatory.

 

The benefits are the same with all providers and cover all necessary medical services. Comparing premiums still pays off, though, because the premiums vary strongly from one health insurance company to another. In part, these differences are due to the fact that the level of service provided by the insurance companies varies as well.

The amount of the premium itself is determined by the policyholder's place of residence, age, insurance model and deductible.

Normal case: health insurance without accident coverage


 

In Switzerland, you are automatically insured against accidents (Accident Insurance Act – UVG) by your employer if you are employed for more than eight hours per week with the same employer. Employees can therefore exclude accident coverage from health insurance without worry. Accident insurance covers the cost of treatment following occupational and non-occupational accidents.

All inactive policyholders, children and self-employed individuals must take out accident coverage with a health insurance provider or a private accident insurance provider.

 

Good to know:

Employees quitting their job voluntarily are covered for 30 days after their entitlement to salary ceases. If you happen to become redundant, you are covered against accidents by SUVA (Swiss Accident Insurance Fund) through the regional placement office (RAV in German).

Out-of-pocket expenses in the event of illness


 

When you use medical services such as visiting a doctor, staying in hospital or taking medication, you are required to bear a certain share of the cost yourself. The mandatory health insurance does not cover the full cost.

These out-of-pocket expenses are made up of the deductible and the coinsurance


Deductible ("franchise")

You are free to choose the amount of your deductible. For adults, the minimum is 300 francs and for children it is 0 francs. This means that, with the minimum deductible, you will have to pay up to 300 francs per calendar year out of your pocket. By choosing a higher deductible, you receive a greater premium reduction.


Coinsurance

Once your annual health care costs exceed the amount of your deductible, you must pay a coinsurance of 10 percent of the amount exceeding the deductible up to a maximum of 700 francs per year (the maximum amount for children is 350 francs). This means that the coinsurance comes into play when the deductible has been used up.

Does this sound a little complicated? Then maybe you will find this sample calculation here helpful.

Supplemental insurance


 

Health insurance supplements provide added comfort and close potential gaps in the coverage of your basic insurance. The benefits of supplemental insurance products vary from one provider to another. The insurance companies may set the premiums according to risk, i.e. with varying levels depending on age and gender, and make reservations in respect of new applicants.

 

There are two categories, "supplemental insurance for outpatient care" and "hospital insurance", which address different needs. The "supplemental outpatient insurance" covers alternative medicine, glasses and dental treatment, among other things.

"Hospital insurance" includes the following benefits, for example:

 

"General"

The supplemental insurance for "general ward throughout Switzerland" covers the additional costs if you go to a hospital outside your canton of residence that is more expensive than the ones in your canton. This supplement is worth considering if you live in a canton where the hospital costs are low, but wish to undergo treatment elsewhere. However, if you are obliged to undergo treatment in another canton because it is not available where you live, this is paid by your basic insurance.

 

"Private/Semi-private"

The insurance supplements for "private ward throughout Switzerland" or "semi-private ward throughout Switzerland" are designed especially for patients who do not want to give up a certain level of comfort while they are in hospital or who generally dislike sharing a room with other people. These two supplements entitle you to payment of a single or double bedroom, respectively. In addition, the chief physician (private) or senior physician (semi-private) are in charge of your treatment.

 

Good to know:

Basic insurance and supplemental insurance do not have to be taken out with the same provider. Frequently, providers require that basic insurance also be taken out with them when supplemental insurance is purchased or they may grant a discount on the supplement if that is the case. However, you can easily switch to a different provider for basic insurance later on if you are offered better terms there.

How do I buy insurance for my children?


 

In Switzerland, there are no family insurance policies as in other countries. Technically, mother, father and children could all be insured with a different provider.

 

The premiums for children are lower and young adults (from 19 to 25 years of age) often also benefit from reduced premiums. We therefore recommend that you compare premiums for your children, as well.

 

If you are expecting a child – congratulations if that is the case! – you need to register your baby for health insurance within three months of its birth. However, you will certainly have better things to do then. So, to be able to focus all your attention on your newborn, and for many other reasons, taking out health insurance before birth is worth it. Another advantage of buying insurance while you are still pregnant is that you can usually choose insurance supplements without a prior assessment of your child's health.

A particularly recommendable supplement is dental insurance. Only few children are blessed with a naturally healthy and straight set of teeth and orthodontic treatment is expensive.

 

Good to know:

Children benefit from a reduced premium for the basic insurance. Do you have more than two kids? Wonderful! In that case, your second or third child plus every additional child benefit from a supplementary discount with some companies. Many health insurance companies also offer family discounts on supplemental insurance.

Changing health insurance


 

Would you like to change your health insurance? For the basic insurance, the following rules apply:

  • In most cases, health insurance can only be cancelled with effect from the end of the year (31 December).
  • The cancellation letter must be sent by registered mail and reach your health insurance provider by the last working day of November.
  • Your cancellation may be denied if you have not fully paid your monthly premiums and out-of-pocket expenses.

 

For supplemental insurance, the following rules apply:

  • Do you wish to switch providers because your premiums have risen? You can find the applicable cancellation period in the terms and conditions of insurance of your provider.
  • Do you wish to switch for other reasons? The health insurance companies apply various cancellation periods in this case. We have listed the cancellation periods for you here.
  • Cancel your supplemental insurance only after having received confirmation of acceptance from your new provider.

Krankenversicherung in der Schweiz

Damit gesund werden nicht zu teuer wird


Was bietet eine Grundversicherung? Wann brauche ich eine Zusatzversicherung? Was ist eine Franchise? Fehlt Ihnen beim Thema Krankenkasse in der Schweiz noch der Durchblick? Hier finden Sie die wichtigsten Informationen, verständlich erklärt.

Das Krankenkassensystem der Schweiz


 

Sie haben nach dem Zuzug in die Schweiz drei Monate Zeit, die obligatorische Krankenversicherung abzuschliessen.

 

Das Wichtigste in Kürze:

  • Der Krankenkassenanbieter ist frei wählbar.
  • Sie können die Krankenkasse jeweils auf Ende Jahr wechseln.
  • Die Leistungen sind bei allen Krankenkassen identisch.
  • Die Höhe der Prämien (Beiträge) ist abhängig von Wohnort, Alter, Versicherungsmodell und Franchise.

 

Die Leistungen decken die Bereiche:

  • Krankheit
  • Unfall
  • Mutterschaft

Als Arbeitnehmer sind Sie jedoch durch Ihren Arbeitgeber in der Regel bereits gegen Unfall versichert und können die Unfalldeckung ausschliessen.

 

Es lohnt sich, zuerst die Prämien zu vergleichen, da die Unterschiede bei den einzelnen Krankenkassen sehr gross sind.

Ähnlich wie bei den Steuern ist auch der Wohnort dafür entscheidend, wie viel Sie für die Grundversicherung zahlen müssen. Sparfüchsen sei deshalb empfohlen, in einen Kanton oder eine Region mit tieferen Prämien zu ziehen.

 

Gut zu wissen:

Die Krankenkassen müssen jeden Antragssteller, der den Beitritt wünscht, in ihre Grundversicherung aufnehmen.

Grundversicherung


 

Die Anmeldung bei einer Krankenkasse ist verpflichtend, wenn Sie in der Schweiz wohnen.

 

Die Leistungen sind bei allen Kassen gleich und decken die notwendige medizinische Versorgung ab. Trotzdem lohnt sich ein Prämienvergleich, da die Prämienunterschiede bei den einzelnen Kassen sehr gross sind. Die Abweichungen sind  unter anderem mit dem unterschiedlichen Service der Krankenkassen zu erkären.

Für die Höhe der Prämien an sich sind Wohnort, Alter, Versicherungsmodell und Franchise entscheidend.

Normalfall: Krankenversicherung ohne Unfalldeckung



Wenn Sie in der Schweiz mehr als 8 Stunden pro Woche bei einem einzigen Arbeitgeber angestellt sind, werden Sie von diesem automatisch gegen Unfall versichert (UVG-versichert). Angestellte können deshalb die Krankenversicherung bedenkenlos ohne Unfalldeckung abschliessen. Die Unfallversicherung deckt sowohl die Heilungskosten bei Berufsunfällen als auch diejenigen bei Nichtberufsunfällen.

Alle Nichtberufstätigen, Kinder und Selbstständigerwerbenden müssen sich entweder bei der Krankenkasse oder einer privaten Unfallversicherung gegen Unfallrisiken versichern.

 

Gut zu wissen:

Bei Arbeitnehmern, die ihre Stelle freiwillig verlassen, bleibt der Versicherungsschutz bis 30 Tage nach dem Ende des Lohnanspruchs bestehen. Sollten Sie Ihre Arbeitsstelle unglücklicherweise verlieren, werden Sie vom RAV (Regionales Arbeitsvermittlungszentrum) bei der SUVA (Schweizerische Unfallversicherungsanstalt) unfallversichert.

Kostenbeteiligung im Krankheitsfall


 

Wenn Sie medizinische Leistungen wie Arztbesuche, Spitalaufenthalte oder Medikamente in Anspruch nehmen, müssen Sie sich bis zu einem bestimmten Betrag an den Kosten beteiligen. Die obligatorische Versicherung übernimmt nicht die gesamten Kosten.

Die Beteiligung besteht aus der Franchise und dem Selbstbehalt

Franchise

Die Höhe der Franchise können Sie frei wählen, sie beträgt jedoch für Erwachsene mindestens 300 Franken und für Kinder 0 Franken. Das heisst: Sie müssen sich pro Kalenderjahr bis zu 300 Franken selber an den Kosten beteiligen. Je höher Sie die Franchise setzen, umso grössere Prämienrabatte erhalten Sie.

Selbstbehalt

Sobald die Gesundheitskosten den Betrag der Franchise erreicht haben, übernehmen Sie einen Selbstbehalt von 10 Prozent bis zu einem Maximalbetrag von 700 Franken (bei Kindern entspricht der Maximalbetrag 350 Franken). Das heisst, den Selbstbehalt müssen Sie dann berappen, wenn die Franchise aufgebraucht ist.

Sie haben Mühe, sich das vorzustellen? Ein Rechenbeispiel, das Ihnen dabei helfen könnte, finden Sie hier.

Zusatzversicherung


 

Zusatzversicherungen bei einer Krankenkasse erhöhen Ihren Komfort und schliessen allfällige Deckungslücken der Grundversicherung. Die Leistungen der Zusatzversicherungen unterscheiden sich von Anbieter zu Anbieter. Die Krankenkassen können dabei die Prämien risikogerecht, das heisst abgestuft nach Alter und Geschlecht, gestalten und Vorbehalte gegenüber dem Antragsteller anbringen.

 

Die zwei Kategorien «ambulante Zusatzversicherung» und «Spitalversicherungen» decken unterschiedliche Bedürfnisse ab. Die «ambulante Zusatzversicherung» zahlt unter anderem für Alternativmedizin, Brillen oder Zahnbehandlungen.

Zur «Spitalversicherungen» gehören zum Beispiel folgende Leistungen:

 

«Allgemein»

Die Zusatzversicherung «allgemeine Abteilung ganze Schweiz» deckt Mehrkosten, wenn Sie in einem Spital ausserhalb Ihres Wohnkantons sind, das teurer ist als in Ihrem Kanton. Dieser Zusatz lohnt sich also dann, wenn Sie in einem Kanton mit tiefen Spitalkosten wohnen, sich aber woanders behandeln lassen wollen. Wenn Sie allerdings gezwungen sind, Behandlungen in einem anderen Kanton vorzunehmen, weil sie in Ihrem Kanton nicht angeboten werden, übernimmt dies die Grundversicherung.

 

«Privat/Halbprivat»

Die Zusatzversicherung «private Abteilung ganze Schweiz» oder «halbprivate Abteilung ganze Schweiz» sind besonders für Patienten, die auf einen gewissen Komfort während ihres Spitalaufenthalts nicht verzichten wollen oder ihr Zimmer generell nur sehr ungern mit anderen Menschen teilen. Mit diesen Zusätzen haben Sie nämlich Anspruch auf die Bezahlung eines Einbett- bzw. Zweibettzimmers im Krankenhaus. Für Sie zuständig ist dann zudem der Chefarzt oder die Chefärztin, bzw. der Oberarzt oder die Oberärztin.

 

Gut zu wissen:

Sie müssen die Grund- und die Zusatzversicherung nicht bei derselben Krankenkasse abschliessen. Oft verlangen zwar die Versicherer beim Abschluss einer Zusatzdeckung, dass auch die Grundversicherung bei ihnen geführt wird und / oder sie bieten Rabatte auf den Zusatz. Sie können mit Ihrer Grundversicherung aber später problemlos zu einer anderen Versicherung wechseln, wenn das für Sie vorteilhafter ist.

Wie versichere ich meine Kinder?


 

Eine Familienversicherung wie in Deutschland gibt es in der Schweiz nicht. Rein theoretisch können Vater, Mutter und Kind bei unterschiedlichen Krankenkassen versichert sein.

 

Für Kinder zahlen Sie eine tiefere Prämie, reduzierte Prämien gibt es häufig auch für junge Erwachsene (19 bis 25 Jahre). Machen Sie auch für Ihre Kinder am besten einen Prämienvergleich.

 

Wenn Sie ein Kind erwarten – Glückwunsch! –, müssen Sie dieses bis drei Monate nach der Geburt bei einer Krankenkasse anmelden. Sie haben in dieser Zeit allerdings bestimmt anderes zu tun und wollen sich voll und ganz auf Ihr Neugeborenes konzentrieren. Nicht nur deshalb lohnt es sich, die Krankenversicherung schon vor der Geburt abzuschliessen. Ein weiterer Vorteil eines vorgeburtlichen Abschlusses ist, dass Sie meistens Zusatzversicherungen wählen können, ohne dass dabei zuerst die Gesundheit des Kindes geprüft wird.

Als Zusatz besonders sinnvoll ist eine Zahnversicherung. Die wenigsten Kinder sind von Natur aus mit einem perfekten Gebiss gesegnet und Zahnstellungskorrekturen sind teuer.

 

Gut zu wissen:

Für Kinder zahlen Sie eine vergünstigte Prämie in der Grundversicherung. Sie haben mehr als zwei Kinder? Wunderbar, dann profitiert das zweite oder dritte und jedes weitere Kind bei einigen Kassen von einem zusätzlichen Rabatt. Bei vielen Krankenkassen gibt es zudem Familienrabatte auf Zusatzversicherungen.

Die Krankenkasse wechseln


 

Sie möchten Ihre Krankenkasse wechseln? Für die Grundversicherung gilt:

  • Eine Kündigung bei der aktuellen Kasse ist in den meisten Fällen nur auf Ende Jahr (31. Dezember) möglich.
  • Ihr Kündigungsschreiben muss als eingeschriebener Brief spätestens am letzten Arbeitstag im November bei Ihrer Krankenkasse eingetroffen sein.
  • Ein Wechsel kann Ihnen verweigert werden, wenn Sie Ihre Monatsprämien und Kostenbeteiligungen nicht vollständig bezahlt haben.

 

Für die Zusatzversicherung gilt:

  • Sie wollen die Kasse wechseln, weil die Prämien gestiegen sind? Die Kündigungsfristen finden Sie in den Versicherungsbedingungen Ihrer Krankenkasse.
  • Sie wollen die Kasse aus einem anderen Grund wechseln? Krankenkassen haben in diesem Fall unterschiedliche Kündigungsfristen. Eine Auflistung der Kündigunsfristen finden Sie hier.
  • Kündigen Sie Ihre Zusatzversicherung erst dann, wenn Sie von der neuen Kasse eine Aufnahmebestätigung bekommen haben.

Umzugsplaner

Der Umzugsservice von comparis.ch hilft Ihnen dabei, keine Anmeldefristen oder wichtigen Termine zu verpassen.