Making payments

Massive price differences in resident parking permits

ANALYSIS
| By Leo Hug |
Source: iStock / Oleksandr Filon

Comparis scrutinized the prices of residential parking permits in the 40 biggest Swiss towns and cities and discovered that they differ enormously. The cost varies from 8 to 1,080 francs.

If you live in a city and have a car, you will be well aware that it’s difficult to find somewhere to park and rents are high. Swiss cities therefore offer long-term parking permits for residents. However, this analysis by Comparis shows that the prices vary immensely from place to place. For example, residents of Riehen (BS) pay just 8 francs for an annual parking permit, while in Wetzikon (ZH) the same type of permit costs 1,080 francs. Elsewhere, the 1,000-franc parking permit in Rapperswil (ZH) can only be used in certain car parks, while Baar (AG) offers no residential parking permits at all.

Lower prices in French-speaking Switzerland

The western cantons are more generous towards residents who do not have their own parking space. In the canton of Geneva, towns and cities charge 200 francs for an annual parking permit. In 2011, voters in La Chaux-de-Fonds decided by a large majority that parking should be free for residents, apart from an administration free of 20 francs. However, our table shows that long-term parking permits are also inexpensive in the cantons of Bern and Basel-Stadt. In fact, Riehen (BS) leads the way when it comes to cheap parking, charging just 8 francs per year.

Town/city Price of annual parking permit
Baar ZG
No long-term parking permit
Wetzikon ZH
CHF 1,080
Rapperswil-Jona SG
CHF 1,000
Wädenswil ZH*
CHF 720
Winterthur ZH
CHF 710
Lucerne
CHF 600
Chur GR**
CHF 600
Kriens LU
CHF 600
Wil SG
CHF 600
Uster ZH***
CHF 540
Lausanne VD
CHF 500
Dübendorf ZH
CHF 500
Lugano TI
CHF 480
Dietikon ZH
CHF 480
Kreuzlingen TG
CHF 420
Schaffhausen
CHF 420
Fribourg
CHF 396
St. Gallen
CHF 360
Köniz BE
CHF 360
Zug
CHF 360
Frauenfeld TG
CHF 360
Renens VD
CHF 360
Emmen LU
CHF 350
Biel/Bienne BE
CHF 330
Zurich
CHF 300
Sion VS
CHF 300
Bulle FR
CHF 300
Basel
CHF 284
Yverdon-les-Bains VD
CHF 270
Bern
CHF 264
Thun BE
CHF 220
Geneva
CHF 200
Vernier GE
CHF 200
Lancy GE
CHF 200
Meyrin GE
CHF 200
Carouge GE
CHF 200
Montreux VD
CHF 170
Neuchâtel NE
CHF 110
La Chaux-de-Fonds NE
CHF 20
Riehen BS
CHF 8

* Without a public transport pass, the cheapest option for residents of Wädenswil is the Glärnisch car park, for which a permit costs 864 francs. 
** Only on the outskirts at Obere Au
*** As well as 60 francs per year for daytime parking, an additional charge of 40 francs per month for overnight parking applies.

High taxes – lower charges

Comparis governmental fees expert Leo Hug accounts for these – often hefty – price differences as follows: “The way long-term parking charges are handled has more to do with tax than linguistic region.” For example, the cantons of Bern and Basel, along with the cantons in French-speaking Switzerland, are high-tax areas. This is no coincidence, believes Hug: “In high-tax areas, citizens are less amenable to paying out more in additional charges.”

Prices increases under consideration

“In the region of Zurich and in central and eastern Switzerland, there is a trend towards higher prices or restrictions on the issuing of long-term parking permits,” says the Comparis expert. For example, in July, Zurich City Council submitted an ordinance (in German only) to its parliament proposing to increase the price of an annual parking permit from 300 francs to 780 francs. Wetzikon, too, is about to overhaul its system for parking management and is therefore not currently selling any annual parking permits. From 2021, the City Council of Lucerne plans to issue parking permits only to those residents who can prove that there are no parking spaces available in their residential complex.

Bezahlen

Gewaltige Preisunterschiede bei Parkkarten für Anwohner

ANALYSE
| von Leo Hug |
Bild: iStock / Oleksandr Filon

Comparis hat die Preise für Anwohnerparkkarten in den 40 grössten Schweizer Städten unter die Lupe genommen und festgestellt: Die Unterschiede sind riesig. Die Kosten variieren nämlich zwischen 8 und 1080 Franken.

Wer in der Stadt wohnt und ein Auto hat, weiss: Einen Parkplatz zu finden, ist schwer, die Miete teuer. Schweizer Städte bieten deshalb Dauerparkkarten für Anwohner an. Die Analyse von Comparis zeigt jedoch, dass die Preise von Stadt zu Stadt sehr stark variieren. So zahlen Bewohner von Riehen (BS) für eine Jahresparkkarte nur 8 Franken – in Wetzikon (ZH) hingegen kostet die Jahresparkkarte 1080 Franken. In Rapperswil (SG) wiederum gilt die Jahresparkkarte von 1000 Franken nur für bestimmte Parkplatzanlagen und die Stadt Baar (ZG) bietet gar keine Parkplatzkarten für Anwohner an.

Westschweizer Städte verlangen weniger

Die westlichen Kantone sind grosszügiger gegenüber den Einwohnern ohne privaten Parkplatz. Die Städte im Kanton Genf erheben für Jahres-Dauerparkkarten eine Gebühr von 200 Franken. Die Stimmbürger von La Chaux-de-Fonds haben 2011 mit grosser Mehrheit entschieden, dass das Parkieren für Anwohner, abgesehen von einer Verwaltungsgebühr von 20 Franken, gratis sein soll. Die Tabelle zeigt aber, dass es auch in den Kantonen Bern und Basel Stadt günstige Parkplätze für Dauerparkierer gibt. Mit 8 Franken pro Jahr ist Riehen sogar der Spitzenreiter, was das billigste Angebot betrifft.

Stadt Preis Jahres-Dauerparkkarte
Baar ZG
Keine Dauerparkkarte
Wetzikon ZH
CHF 1080
Rapperswil-Jona SG
CHF 1000
Wädenswil ZH*
CHF 720
Winterthur ZH
CHF 710
Luzern
CHF 600
Chur GR**
CHF 600
Kriens LU
CHF 600
Wil SG
CHF 600
Uster ZH***
CHF 540
Lausanne VD
CHF 500
Dübendorf ZH
CHF 500
Lugano TI
CHF 480
Dietikon ZH
CHF 480
Kreuzlingen TG
CHF 420
Schaffhausen
CHF 420
Freiburg
CHF 396
St. Gallen
CHF 360
Köniz BE
CHF 360
Zug
CHF 360
Frauenfeld TG
CHF 360
Renens VD
CHF 360
Emmen LU
CHF 350
Biel BE
CHF 330
Zürich
CHF 300
Sitten VS
CHF 300
Bulle FR
CHF 300
Basel
CHF 284
Yverdon-les-Bains VD
CHF 270
Bern
CHF 264
Thun BE
CHF 220
Genf
CHF 200
Vernier GE
CHF 200
Lancy GE
CHF 200
Meyrin GE
CHF 200
Carouge GE
CHF 200
Montreux VD
CHF 170
Neuenburg NE
CHF 110
La Chaux-de-Fonds NE
CHF 20
Riehen BS
CHF 8

* Ohne ÖV-Abo kostet die günstigste Variante für Wädenswiler auf dem Parkplatz Glärnisch 864 Franken. 
** Nur am Stadtrand auf der Oberen Au
*** Zu den 60 Franken im Jahr für Tagesparkieren kommen noch 40 Franken im Monat fürs Nachtparkieren hinzu.

Hohe Steuern, weniger Gebühren

Wie diese teilweise heftigen Preisunterschiede zustande kommen, erklärt der Comparis-Gebührenexperte Leo Hug so: «Die Toleranz fürs Dauerparkieren ist weniger eine Frage des Sprachgebiets als eine der Steuern.» So zählten etwa die Kantone Bern und Basel zusammen mit den übrigen Kantonen in der Westschweiz zu den Hochsteuergebieten. Das sei kein Zufall, meint Hug: «In Hochsteuergebieten sind die Bürger weniger bereit, sich zusätzlich über Gebühren melken zu lassen.»

Diskussion um Preiserhöhung

«In der Region Zürich sowie in der Zentral- und Ostschweiz zeigt sich ein Trend zu höheren Preisen oder zu Einschränkungen bei der Vergabe von Dauerparkkarten», stellt der Comparis-Experte fest. So hat etwa der Zürcher Stadtrat im Juli seinem Parlament eine Verordnung unterbreitet, die eine Preiserhöhung für die Dauerparkkarte von 300 Franken auf 780 Franken vorsieht. Auch Wetzikon steht kurz vor einem Systemwechsel in der Parkplatzbewirtschaftung und verkauft darum zurzeit keine ganzjährigen Parkkarten. Der Stadtrat von Luzern will ab 2021 nur noch Parkkarten an Anwohner abgeben, wenn sie nachweisen können, dass in ihrer Wohnliegenschaft keine Parkplätze zur Verfügung stehen.