Members of the Advisory Board


The Advisory Board provides support and advice both with regard to technical medical issues and the further development of the hospital comparison and medical directory. We always strive to provide our users with simple and clear explanations of medical terms. To make sure that our medical contents are correct despite the simplification, we consult the Advisory Board.


Peter Berchtold

Peter Berchtold is a specialist in internal medicine with many years of managerial experience as an internist at all levels of operation. He is a co-founder and co-director of College-M, the college of healthcare management in Bern, which operates in the fields of further training (management and leadership training for doctors, nurses and other healthcare professionals) as well as research and development (multi-professionalism in healthcare institutions, coordination and integration of healthcare). Peter Berchtold is the president of the Forum Managed Care, the Swiss forum for integrated care. In his work, Peter Berchtold focusses on handling the complexity in healthcare institutions and in the healthcare system, which essentially results from the concurrence of medical, human, economic, organisational and other requirements.

Bettina Borisch

Bettina Borisch studied Medicine and Modern History at the universities of Lausanne and Kiel. After her further clinical training and specialisation (FMH), she habilitated in Pathology and was appointed professor at the University of Geneva. Completing an MPH programme in Geneva, she acquired a Master's degree in Public Health. Professor Borisch currently works at the Institute of Global Health of the University of Geneva. Her research is concerned with health communication, early diagnosis and international health policy. She is the executive director of the World Federation of Public Health Associations (WFPHA), the umbrella organisation of all Public Health Associations, and runs its headquarters in Geneva. She represents Switzerland in various international bodies. Her scientific work encompasses over 100 publications and book articles.

Henrik Pfahler

Henrik Pfahler studied Human Medicine at Kiel University, received a PhD from the University of Basel, and later obtained an Executive MBA in General Management at the University of St. Gallen. After a period working as an assistant physician in internal medicine at hospitals in the district of Lörrach, Henrik Pfahler focused his activities on the areas of medical controlling and coding. He held various management positions at the Aarau Cantonal Hospital and the Inselspital in Bern (Insel Gruppe AG), and has been head of the Staff of the Directorate at the University Hospital of Basel since 1 October 2018. In the past, Henrik Pfahler has held various advisory mandates for a multitude of stake holder groups in the healthcare sector (pharmaceutical and medical technology industry, hospital associations, etc.) and was also the managing director of departure Suisse GmbH.

 

Thomas Rosemann

Thomas Rosemann studied dentistry and human medicine in Munich and received a PhD in medicine in 1999. After working as an assistant physician in surgery and internal medicine, he switched to the Heidelberg University Hospital (D) in 2003. Later on he did a PhD in Health Sciences in Nijmegen (NL) and ran research projects in the US. In 2007, he qualified as professor at the University of Heidelberg and was appointed senior physician of the General Medicine and Healthcare Research Department. Since 2008, he has been the director of the Institute of Primary Care at the Zurich University Hospital and professor of Primary Care at the University of Zurich. His research focusses on the care of the chronically ill and the improvement of the quality of medical treatment.

Werner Widmer

Werner Widmer has vast experience in the health care sector and was the director of four public hospitals: Solothurn Bürgerspital, Zurich University Hospital, Spital Zollikerberg (ad interim), Bruderholz Hospital (ad interim). For a longer period of time, he was member of the board of directors at the Adelheid rehabilitation clinic (Unterägeri), the foundation board of the See-Spital (Horgen), the foundation board of the Swiss Patient Organisation and the managing board of Curaviva Switzerland. Since 2001 he has been the director of the Diakoniewerk Münster foundation. Besides that, he is the chairman of the board of the Baselland Cantonal Hospital and member of the board of the SV Group. He lectures at the University of St. Gallen (HSG). As a speaker, writer and advisor, Werner Widmer is one of the innovative lateral thinkers of the Swiss public health sector.

Beiräte


Der Beirat unterstützt und berät sowohl in medizinischen Fachfragen als auch in Bezug auf die Weiterentwicklung des Spitalvergleichs. Wir sind stets darum bemüht, unseren Nutzern die medizinischen Begriffe so einfach und klar wie möglich darzustellen. Um trotz der Vereinfachung korrekt zu sein, stimmen wir medizinische Inhalte mit dem Beirat ab.


Peter Berchtold

Peter Berchtold ist Facharzt für Innere Medizin mit langjähriger Führungstätigkeit als internistischer Spitalarzt auf allen Funktionsebenen. Er ist Mitbegründer und Co-Leiter des College für Management im Gesundheitswesen (College-M) in Bern mit den Geschäftsfeldern Weiterbildung (Management-/Führungstraining für Ärzte, Pflegende und weitere Gesundheitsberufe) sowie Forschung und Entwicklung (Multiprofessionalität in Gesundheitsinstitutionen, Koordination und Integration der Gesundheitsversorgung). Peter Berchtold ist Präsident des Forum Managed Care, des Schweizer Forums für Integrierte Versorgung. Zentrales Thema in der Arbeit von Peter Berchtold ist der Umgang mit Komplexität in Gesundheitsinstitutionen und im Gesundheitssystem, welche im Wesentlichen durch die Gleichzeitigkeit medizinischer, menschlicher, ökonomischer, organisatorischer und weiterer Anforderungen entsteht.

Bettina Borisch

Bettina Borisch studierte Medizin und Neuere Geschichte an den Universitäten Lausanne und Kiel. Nach der klinischen Weiterbildung zum FMH habilitierte sie sich in Bern für das Fach Pathologie und wurde an die Université de Genève als Professorin berufen. Sie erlangte den Master of Public Health im Rahmen des Genfer MPH-Programms. Professor Borisch ist am Institut für Global Health der Université de Genève tätig. Ihre Forschungsarbeit betrifft Health Communication, Früherkennung und internationale Gesundheitspolitik. Sie ist Geschäftsführerin der World Federation of Public Health Associations (WFPHA), dem Dachverband aller Public Health Associations, dessen Hauptsitz in Genf sie leitet. Sie vertritt die Schweiz in unterschiedlichen internationalen Gremien. Ihr wissenschaftliches Werk umfasst über 100 Publikationen und Buchbeiträge.

Henrik Pfahler

Henrik Pfahler hat an der Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel Humanmedizin studiert, an der Universität Basel promoviert und später an der Universität St. Gallen einen Executive MBA in General Management absolviert. Nach der Zeit als Assistenzarzt für Innere Medizin an den Kliniken des Landkreises Lörrach fokussierte Henrik Pfahler seine Tätigkeiten in den Bereichen Medizinisches Controlling und Codierung. Nach diversen Kaderstellen am Kantonsspital Aarau und dem Inselspital Bern/Insel Gruppe AG arbeitet Henrik Pfahler seit 01.10.2018 als Leiter Direktionsstab am Universitätsspital Basel. In der Vergangenheit nahm Henrik Pfahler diverse Beratungsmandate für verschiedenste Anspruchsgruppen im Gesundheitswesen (Pharma- , Medizintechnik-Industrie, Spitalverbände etc.) wahr und war zudem Geschäftsführer der departure Suisse GmbH.

 

Thomas Rosemann

Thomas Rosemann hat in München (D) Zahnmedizin und Humanmedizin studiert und 1999 in Medizin promoviert. Nach Assistenzarztstellen in Chirurgie und Innerer Medizin wechselte er 2003 an das Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg (D). Es folgte ein PhD-Studium und Promotion in Gesundheitswissenschaften in Nijmegen (NL), sowie Forschungsaufenthalte in den USA. 2007 habilitierte er an der Universität Heidelberg und wurde leitender Arzt der Abteilung Allgemeinmedizin und Versorgungsforschung. Seit 2008 ist er Direktor des Instituts für Hausarztmedizin am USZ und Ordinarius für Hausarztmedizin an der Universität Zürich. Forschungsschwerpunkte sind die Versorgung chronisch Kranker und die Steigerung medizinischer Behandlungsqualität.

Werner Widmer

Werner Widmer verfügt über eine breite Erfahrung im Gesundheitswesen und war Direktor in vier öffentlichen Spitälern: Bürgerspital Solothurn, Universitätsspital Zürich, Spital Zollikerberg (ad interim), Spital Bruderholz (ad interim). Längere Zeit gehörte er dem Verwaltungsrat der Rehabilitationsklinik Adelheid (Unterägeri), dem Stiftungsrat des See-Spitals (Horgen), dem Stiftungsrat der Schweizerischen Patientenorganisation und dem Vorstand von Curaviva Schweiz an. Seit 2001 leitet er als Direktor die Stiftung Diakoniewerk Neumünster. Daneben ist er Verwaltungsratspräsident des Kantonsspitals Baselland und Mitglied des Verwaltungsrates der SV Group. Er hat einen Lehrauftrag an der Universität St. Gallen (HSG). Als Referent, Publizist und Berater zählt Werner Widmer zu den innovativen Querdenkern im Schweizerischen Gesundheitswesen.