Car financing


 

Financing your car

Paying for your car in cash is definitely the cheapest option. However, there are times when you may need additional funds to make the purchase. In this case, you need to know which makes the most financial sense – a lease or a loan?

At first glance, leasing may appear the more favourable option. But bear in mind that there is more to leasing than just the annual interest charges. You need to consider that factors such as ownership, insurance costs, mileage, taxes and contract duration also affect the total cost of a vehicle over its entire useful life.

 

Personal loan comparison

Calculate the costs for your personal loan – and compare.

Car leasing comparison

Calculate your monthly leasing rate here.
 


 

Example: Lease vs. loan

  Lease 4.9% Loan 7.9%
Purchase price of car 30,000 30,000
Residual value 12,000  
Financing amount 18,000  
Duration in months 48 48
Interest rate 4.90% 7.90%
     
Monthly cost 458.90 727.15
Total cost of instalments 22,027 34,903
Total cost including acquisition of car 34,027 34,903
     
Difference in financing   876
Difference in insurance   -804
Total difference (savings compared to lease)   72

Assumptions / explanations

According to analyses by comparis.ch, full casco insurance for a leased car costs on average 200 francs more per year than that for a non-leased car. The costs of a lease at 4.9 percent roughly correspond to those of a loan at 7.9%.

 

How much does a car lease really cost?

Many people do not realise how expensive leasing really is when they sign a lease contract. Even a personal loan is often cheaper and has the additional advantage of the car being yours right from the start.

 

Hidden costs of a car lease


  • Car insurance: As lessee, you are obliged to buy expensive full casco insurance. Even after a few years, you may not switch to partial casco insurance, which is cheaper. What’s more, full casco is even more expensive for leased vehicles than it is for vehicles paid for in cash.
  • Tax: For private individuals, loan interest is tax-deductible, whereas interest payments for a lease are not. For self-employed persons, a lease may be more convenient because it can be accounted for via the company and thus deducted from the profit.
  • Service Under a lease, you may be contractually obliged to have your car serviced in authorised repair shops only, which are expensive. You may also incur considerable additional costs when returning the car after the lease has expired. Why? As the garage has to buy the vehicle from the leasing company at the residual value, it is in their interest to bill as many complaints as possible to the customer.
  • Excess mileage: The lease contract stipulates a maximum number of kilometres that may be driven per year. If you exceed your allowance, those additional kilometres could cost you dearly.
  • Ownership: You are not the owner of the car while you lease it. You may not sell the car nor lend it to third parties without restriction. If there is no purchase option in your lease contract, you have no claim to the car even after the lease has expired. In this case, the garage buys the car at the residual value. This price is usually less than the market value because the car depreciated in value as you used it. At the end of the day, the garage makes a profit at your expense. If you finance a car with a loan, on the other hand, you can sell it any time at its market value – and if you can get more for it than the residual amount of your loan, you can reap the benefits yourself.
  • Financing trap: Should your income or personal situation suddenly change and you are unable to continue the lease, you can expect to pay a high price for early termination. So instead of being able to resolve money worries by selling your car, you may run into even greater financial trouble.

 

The 6 great advantages of a car loan at a glance 

  • The car is yours right from the start. This means that you may use the car in any way you like.
  • If you suddenly find yourself in financial difficulties, you are free to sell the car and terminate the personal loan.
  • You do not have to rely on a specific repair shop, but are free to choose the cheapest provider.
  • It is you who decides which parts should be repaired, not the leasing company.
  • After two to three years, you can switch to cheaper partial casco insurance or you may even choose to get partial casco from the beginning.
  • In your tax declaration, you can deduct the loan as debt from your property and the interest paid from your income. If you lease a car, you cannot make any deductions.

Autofinanzierung


Finanzierung Ihres Autos

Die günstigste Variante ist zweifellos, ein Auto bar zu bezahlen. Aber – je nach Situation – muss ein Autokauf zusätzlich finanziert werden. Da stellt sich die Frage, was schlussendlich günstiger ist: ein Leasing oder ein Autokredit.

Auf den ersten Blick scheint ein Leasing die günstigere Variante. Aber beachten Sie, nicht nur die jährlichen Zinskosten sind wichtig. Die Gesamtkosten für das Fahrzeug werden über die Nutzungsdauer auch durch folgende Dinge beeinflusst: die Frage des Eigentums, Versicherungskosten, Kilometerleistung, steuerliche Aspekte und Laufzeit.

 

Privatkredit-Vergleich

Berechnen Sie die Kosten für Ihren Privatkredit – und vergleichen Sie.

Ihre Leasingrate berechnen

Lassen Sie sich die monatliche Leasingrate berechnen:
 


 

Beispiel Leasing vs. Kredit

  Leasing 4.9% Kredit 7.9%
Kaufpreis Auto 30'000 30'000
Restwert 12'000  
Finanzierungsbetrag 18'000  
Laufzeit in Monaten 48 48
Zinssatz 4.90% 7.90%
     
Monatliche Belastung 458.90 727.15
Gesamtkosten der Raten 22'027 34'903
Gesamtkosten inkl. FZ-Übernahme 34'027 34'903
     
Differenz Finanzierung   876
Differenz Versicherung   -804
Total Differenz (Ersparnis zum Leasing)   72

Annahmen / Erklärungen

Gemäss Auswertungen von comparis.ch ist im Schnitt die Vollkasko-Versicherung bei einem geleasten Auto 200 Franken teurer pro Jahr, als bei einem nicht geleasten. Ein Leasing zu 4.9 Prozent entspricht etwa den Kosten für einen Kredit zu 7.9 Prozent.

 

Wie viel kostet ein Autoleasing wirklich?

Beim Abschluss eines Leasingvertrages ist vielen nicht bewusst, wie teuer Leasing tatsächlich ist. Sogar ein Privatkredit ist oftmals günstiger und hat den zusätzlichen Vorteil: Das Auto gehört von Anfang an Ihnen.

 

Versteckte Kosten beim Autoleasing:


  • Autoversicherung: Als Leasingnehmer sind Sie zu einer teuren Vollkasko-Versicherung verpflichtet. Auch nach ein paar Jahren können Sie nicht auf eine günstigere Teilkasko-Versicherung wechseln. Hinzu kommt, dass die Vollkasko für Leasingfahrzeuge noch teurer ist als für bar gekaufte Fahrzeuge.
  • Steuer: Als Privatperson können Sie zwar Kreditzinsen von der Steuer absetzen, nicht aber Leasingzinsen. Für Selbständige kann Leasing sinnvoller sein, weil das Leasing über die Firma abgerechnet und somit von Gewinn abgezogen werden kann.
  • Service: Die Leasingfirma kann Sie per Vertrag dazu verpflichten, den Service nur bei teuren Markengaragen zu machen. Vor allem bei der Rückgabe nach Ablauf des Leasings kann es noch einmal teuer werden. Warum? Weil der Garagist das Fahrzeug von der Leasingfirma zum Restwert abkaufen muss, liegt es in seinem Interesse, dem Kunden möglichst viele Beanstandungen in Rechnung zu stellen.
  • Mehrkilometer: Im Leasingvertrag steht eine maximale Kilometerzahl pro Jahr. Falls Sie mal mehr Kilometer fahren, müssen Sie jeden zusätzlichen Kilometer teuer bezahlen.
  • Eigentum: Das Auto gehört während des Leasings nicht Ihnen. Sie können das Auto nicht verkaufen oder unbeschränkt an Dritte ausleihen. Ohne Kaufoption im Leasingvertrag, haben Sie auch nach Ablauf des Leasings keinen Anspruch auf das Fahrzeug. In diesem Fall kauft der Garagist das Auto zum Restwert. Dieser liegt häufig unter dem Marktwert, weil Sie als Kunde es bereits amortisiert haben. Unterm Strich erzielt der Garagist damit einen Gewinn zu Ihren Lasten. Wenn Sie das Auto hingegen auf Kredit finanzieren, können Sie es jederzeit zum Marktwert verkaufen – und selbst davon profitieren, wenn dieser höher ist als der ausstehende Kredit.
  • Finanzierungsfalle: Ändern sich Ihre Einkommensverhältnisse oder Lebensumstände kurzfristig und können Sie das Leasing nicht fortführen, dann müssen Sie für eine vorzeitige Kündigung einen hohen Betrag zahlen. Anstatt dass sich ein finanzieller Engpass mit einem Fahrzeugverkauf überbrücken lässt, geraten Sie dadurch in noch grössere finanzielle Schwierigkeiten.

 

Die 6 grossen Vorteile eines Autokredits auf einen Blick 

  • Der Wagen gehört von Anfang an Ihnen. Das heisst: Sie können über den Wagen so verfügen, wie Sie wollen.
  • Wenn es plötzlich finanziell eng wird, sind Sie frei, den Wagen zu verkaufen und den Kleinkredit aufzulösen.
  • Sie sind nicht auf eine bestimmte Servicegarage angewiesen, sondern können einen günstigen Anbieter wählen.
  • Welche Teile repariert werden sollen, bestimmen Sie und nicht etwa die Leasingfirma.
  • Nach zwei bis drei Jahren können Sie zu einer günstigeren Teilkasko wechseln oder sich von Anfang an für eine solche Versicherung entscheiden.
  • In Ihrer Steuererklärung können Sie den Kredit als Schuld von Ihrem Vermögen und die Kreditzinsen von Ihrem Einkommen abziehen. Bei einem geleasten Fahrzeug ist kein Abzug möglich.