Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

InsuranceHealth insuranceNew alternative insurance models
Switching insurers

New alternative insurance models

By Felix Schneuwly

13.10.2020

Source: iStock / sturti

Despite the overwhelming rejection of the managed care model in the referendum of 17 June 2012, more and more policyholders are purposely choosing alternative models for their basic insurance, saving 10-15% on premiums in the process – without sacrificing quality of medical care. Nowadays, over 70% of policyholders have an alternative insurance model. Furthermore, insurance companies collaborate with doctors and other medical service providers to create new alternative models every year.

In what ways do alternative models limit my freedom of choice?

All alternative insurance models have one thing in common: policyholders accept a limited choice of service providers (doctors, hospitals, pharmacies etc.) in exchange for a discount on their premiums. Insurance companies must prove how much an alternative insurance model saves in order for the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) to approve the premium discount.

Under almost all alternative insurance models, choice of provider is limited at the start of the diagnosis or treatment process. This is known as “gatekeeping”. If you have a Telmed model, you must first call a helpline. If you have a family doctor model, you first consult your family doctor. With an HMO model, you contact the medical centre. With a pharmacy model, you are obliged to purchase any medicine from a particular pharmacy or pharmacy chain. These models save money by preventing patients from going straight to a specialist or turning up at hospital emergency departments with minor ailments. And, with the coronavirus pandemic deterring people from visiting medical practices and hospitals for fear of catching the virus, many have now discovered first hand the benefits of telemedicine.

Compare premiums now

How do alternative insurance models save me money?

You can save money without compromising on the quality of medical care provided. And in fact, models offering more than just “gatekeeping” actually improve quality: with data-driven coordination of complex treatments, patients are spared multiple assessments, the blind search for a suitable doctor or hospital and superfluous or even harmful operations. Here are two examples:

  • With the Multimed model from CSS, you can choose between different first points of contact in the event of illness: either a family doctor from a network/group practice or a telemedicine centre. In addition, you have access to digital support from myGuide. This online questionnaire dynamically orders your responses resulting in a recommendation regarding whether or not you need to see a doctor. Customers who have repeat prescriptions obtain their medicine from mail-order pharmacies.

  • From 1 January 2021, Assura (in German, French and Italian only) will offer a Qualimed model that is 90% the same as a traditional family doctor or telemedicine model in terms of the way it functions. If the family doctor or telemedicine centre decides that the patient needs treatment by a specialist in the field of cardiology, orthopaedics, urology or gastroenterology, the patient contacts the company BetterDoc, based in Basel. After analyzing the family doctor's report and a range of quality data (including training and qualifications, patient satisfaction and specialization), BetterDoc proposes the three most suitable specialists for the patient's situation. The patient can then choose one of them. The BetterDoc concept has provoked a hostile reception from Swiss doctors. Nevertheless, there is a future for data-driven diagnosis and treatment recommendations, not least because they surpass those made by family doctors who simply recommend their friends from medical school.
  • Author

    Felix Schneuwly

    Health & health insurance expert

    media@comparis.ch

    Related articles

    Back to top

    Newsletter

    Stay up-to-date with the latest savings deals as well as expert tips on health, money and tax.

    By registering, I agree to my data being processed in accordance with the data privacy statement of comparis.ch.

    comparis.ch
    • About Comparis

    • Career

    Social Media
    Language
    • DE
    • FR
    • IT
    • EN
    • Contact
    • Data privacy protection
    • Legal information
    • Credits

    © 1996–2020 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zurich, +41 44 360 52 62

Comparis
Newsletter
de

Versicherungen

Auto & Motorrad

Immobilien

Kredit & Hypotheken

Preisvergleich

Gesundheit & Altersvorsorge

Weitere Services

Comparis

Menü

VersicherungenKrankenkasseNeue alternative Versicherungsmodelle
Wechsel

Neue alternative Versicherungsmodelle

von Felix Schneuwly

13.10.2020

Bild: iStock / sturti

Trotz der massiven Ablehnung der Managed-Care-Vorlage bei der Volksabstimmung vom 17. Juni 2012 entscheiden sich immer mehr Versicherte freiwillig für eine Grundversicherung mit einem alternativen Versicherungsmodell (AVM) und sparen so ohne Qualitätseinbussen bei der medizinischen Versorgung zwischen 10 und 25 Prozent Prämien. Mittlerweile haben über 70 Prozent der Versicherten ein AVM. Und die Versicherungen kreieren zusammen mit Ärzten und anderen medizinischen Leistungserbringern jedes Jahr neue AVM.

Wie sieht die Einschränkung der Wahlfreiheit bei AVM aus?

Alle alternativen Versicherungsmodelle haben eines gemeinsam: Versicherte schränken die Wahl der Leistungserbringer (Ärzte, Spitäler, Apotheken etc.) ein und bekommen dafür einen Prämienrabatt. Die Versicherung muss nachweisen, wie viel mit einem AVM gespart wird, damit das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) den Prämienrabatt bewilligt.

Die Einschränkung der Wahlfreiheit beginnt bei fast allen AVM am Anfang einer Untersuchung oder Behandlung. Das nennt man Gatekeeping: Mit einem Telmed-Modell muss man zuerst telefonieren, mit einem Hausarzt-Modell zum Hausarzt, mit einem HMO-Modell ins Ärztezentrum und mit einem Apotheken-Modell muss man die verschriebenen Medikamente in einer bestimmten Apotheke bzw. Apothekenkette beziehen. Weil Patientinnen und Patienten mit einem AVM nicht direkt zu Spezialärzten oder mit Bagatellen in die Notfallstationen der Spitäler gehen dürfen, werden Kosten gespart. Und dank der Corona-Krise haben viele gute Erfahrungen mit telemedizinischen Konsultationen gemacht, weil sie sich nicht in Arztpraxen oder Spitälern mit dem Virus anstecken wollten.

Jetzt Prämien vergleichen

Wie kann ich mit AVM Geld sparen?

Nun gibt es noch Möglichkeiten, mit AVM Geld zu sparen, ohne die Qualität der medizinischen Leistungen einzuschränken. Im Gegenteil: Eine über das Gatekeeping hinausgehende, datenbasierte Koordination komplexer Behandlungen erspart Patienten Mehrfachuntersuchungen, die Suche eines passenden Arztes oder Spitals im Blindflug und oft auch überflüssige oder gar schädliche Operationen. Hier sind zwei Beispiele:

  • Wer sich für das Multimed-AVM der CSS entscheidet, kann im Krankheitsfall zwischen unterschiedlichen ersten Anlaufstellen wählen. Zur Verfügung stehen Hausärzte in Netzwerken/Gruppenpraxen und Telemedizin. Ergänzt werden sie durch den digitalen Ratgeber myGuide. Dieser je nach Antworten dynamisch verlaufende Online-Fragebogen führt zu einer Empfehlung, ob ein Arztbesuch sinnvoll ist. Erhält der Kunde ein Dauerrezept für seine Arzneimittel, werden diese über Versandapotheken bezogen.

  • Ab dem 1.1.2021 bietet Assura das AVM Qualimed an, das zu 90% wie ein klassisches Hausarzt-und Telemedizin-Modell funktioniert. Entscheidet der Hausarzt oder das telemedizinische Zentrum, dass der Patient durch einen Spezialisten in der Kardiologie, Orthopädie, Urologie oder Gastroenterologie weiterbehandelt werden soll, wendet sich der Patient an das Unternehmen Better Doc mit Sitz in Basel. Better Doc schlägt dem Patienten, gestützt auf den Bericht des Hausarztes und Qualitätsdaten (u. a. Ausbildung, Patientenzufriedenheit, Spezialisierung seiner Tätigkeit), drei für seine Situation am besten geeignete Fachärzte vor. Von diesen kann der Patient einen auswählen. Die Schweizer Ärzteschaft läuft Sturm gegen die Firma Better Doc. Datengestützte Untersuchungs- und Behandlungsempfehlungen haben jedoch Zukunft, weil sie besser sind als die Empfehlung des Hausarztes, der seine Studienkollegen für die Operation vorschlägt.
  • Autor

    Felix Schneuwly

    Experte Krankenkassen & Gesundheit

    media@comparis.ch

    Verwandte Beiträge

    Nach oben

    Newsletter

    Immer aktuell informiert über Sparmöglichkeiten sowie Experten-Tipps rund um die Themen Gesundheit, Finanzen und Steuern.

    Mit der Anmeldung stimme ich der Bearbeitung meiner Daten entsprechend der Datenschutzerklärung von comparis.ch zu.

    comparis.ch
    • Über Comparis

    • Medien

    • Karriere

    Folgen Sie uns
    Sprache
    • DE
    • FR
    • IT
    • EN
    • Kontakt
    • Datenschutz
    • Rechtliche Informationen
    • Impressum

    © 1996–2020 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zürich, +41 44 360 52 62