Benefits

Breast reduction – when is it covered by health insurance?

INFORMATION
|
Large breasts can lead to severe back pain. Source: iStock / elenaleonova

A large bust can be a heavy burden – not just psychologically and physically, but financially as well. Comparis explains in what cases your health insurance will cover some of the costs.

Breast reduction surgery is not necessarily a cosmetic procedure. Many operations are medically necessary, as women with oversized bosoms suffer pain and discomfort.

Adverse effects of large breasts

Large breasts are often associated with physical problems. Those affected often have neck and back pain, which keeps recurring or leads to permanent posture problems, despite therapy. In extreme cases, the breasts may weigh two kilos per side – placing considerable strain on the spine. Other common symptoms include eczema under the overhanging breasts and bra straps that cut painfully into the skin. Then there is the psychological strain, which is a problem for many.

Breast reduction provides relief

With a breast reduction – also known as a reduction mammaplasty – affected women can be relieved from their burden. During this operation, excess skin, glandular tissue and fat are removed, thereby reducing the volume of the breast. The nipple is returned to its original position. With the remaining tissue, the breast is reshaped and the skin encloses it more tautly.

In theory, breast reductions can be performed on women of any age. However, it is important that the woman has stopped growing and the bust is fully developed. You can find out more about the operation here.

Health insurance cover not always available

This kind of operation is expensive – often costing over 10,000 francs. Health insurers will pay some of these costs in certain cases, as very large breasts can cause health problems. Essentially, in order for breast reduction to be classified as a statutory benefit under basic health insurance, the following criteria must be fulfilled:

  • The large breasts cause regular physical or psychological symptoms of clinical significance.
  • There is a causal relationship between these symptoms and the large bust.
  • Surgery would lead to the elimination of these complaints.
  • A minimum of 500 grams of tissue is removed from each side.
  • The Body Mass Index (BMI) is no greater than 25 kg/m².
  • Conservative measures (e.g. medication, physiotherapy and back exercises) have had no effect.

If you do not meet these criteria, then breast reduction is considered a cosmetic procedure. As a last resort, a supplemental insurance policy may cover the costs – but just a proportion of them. Some health insurers offer supplemental insurance policies that cover cosmetic procedures. This kind of policy usually also covers some of the costs of a breast enlargement.

In any case, you are advised to consult a surgeon and ask your health insurance company whether and to what extent it covers the cost of a breast reduction. Always ask your insurer for confirmation that payment of the costs is approved. In the event of a dispute, contact the ombudsman service for health insurers (link in German, French and Italian only).

Note: if you make an advance payment to the doctor before obtaining the approval of your health insurer, you are obliged to accept the price.

Still have questions or want to offer advice from your own experience? Discuss this issue with other affected women in our forum.

Leistungen

Brustverkleinerung: Wann zahlt die Krankenkasse?

INFO
|
Eine grosse Oberweite kann zu starken Rückenschmerzen führen. Bild: iStock / elenaleonova

Ein grosser Busen kann ebenfalls zur grossen Belastung werden: nicht nur psychisch und physisch, sondern auch finanziell. In welchem Fall die Krankenkasse Teile der Kosten übernimmt, zeigt Comparis.

Eine Brustoperation ist nicht einer Schönheitsoperation gleichzustellen. Viele Eingriffe sind medizinisch notwendig: Denn Frauen mit übergrossen Brüsten leiden.

Grosse Brüste beeinträchtigen

So gehen grosse Brüste oft mit körperlichen Beschwerden einher. Die Betroffenen haben oft Nacken- und Rückenschmerzen, die trotz Therapie immer wiederkehren oder gar zu bleibenden Haltungsschäden führen. Im Extremfall wiegen Brüste pro Seite zwei Kilogramm – eine erhebliche Belastung für die Wirbelsäule. Zum Leidensalltag gehören auch Ekzeme in der Unterbrustfalte und schmerzhaft einschneidende BH-Träger. Hinzu kommt bei vielen ein psychischer Leidensdruck.

Eine Brustverkleinerung schafft Abhilfe

Mit einer Brustverkleinerung – auch Brustreduktion oder Mammareduktion genannt – können die betroffenen Frauen von ihren Problemen erlöst werden. In einer Operation wird Haut-, Brustdrüsen- und Fettgewebe entfernt. Dadurch verringert sich das Volumen. Die Brustwarze wird an ihren ursprünglichen Platz gebracht. Mit dem verbleibenden Gewebe wird die Brust neu geformt und von einem strafferen Hautmantel umgeben.

Eine Brustverkleinerung kann prinzipiell in jedem Alter durchgeführt werden. Wichtige ist jedoch, dass das Körperwachstum abgeschlossen und die Brust vollständig entwickelt ist. Hier erfahren Sie mehr zur Operation.

Krankenkasse übernimmt nicht immer

Eine Operation ist teuer: Sie kostet oft mehr als 10‘000 Franken. Einen Teil dieser Kosten übernehmen Krankenkassen in gewissen Fällen, da sehr grosse Brüste zu gesundheitlichen Problemen führen. Grundsätzlich müssen folgende Kriterien erfüllt sein, damit die obligatorische Krankenversicherung eine Brustverkleinerung als Pflichtleistung anerkennt:

  • Die grossen Brüste verursachen regelmässige, körperliche oder psychische Beschwerden mit Krankheitswert.
  • Zwischen den Beschwerden und der grossen Brust besteht ein Kausalzusammenhang.
  • Der Eingriff zielt auf die Beseitigung dieser Beschwerden ab.
  • Es werden mindestens 500 Gramm Gewebe (pro Seite) entfernt..
  • Der Body Mass Index (BMI) darf 25 kg/m² nicht übersteigen.
  • Konservative Massnahmen (z.B. Medikamente, Physiotherapie oder Rückentraining) sind wirkungslos geblieben.

Erfüllen Sie diese Kriterien nicht, gilt die Brustreduktion als kosmetischer Eingriff. Letzte Hoffnung einer Kostenübernahme ist eine Zusatzversicherung: Diese übernimmt einen Teil der Behandlungskosten. Für kosmetische Eingriffe bieten einige Krankenkassen entsprechende Zusatzversicherungen an. Eine solche übernimmt in der Regel auch einen Kostenanteil einer Brustvergrösserung.

So oder so empfiehlt sich: Konsultieren Sie einen Chirurgen und fragen Sie bei der Krankenkasse nach, ob und in welchem Umfang sie die Kosten einer Brustreduktion übernimmt. Verlangen sie in jedem Fall eine Kostengutsprache. In Streitfällen wenden sie sich online an die Ombudsstelle der Krankenversicherungen.

Aufgepasst: Wer vor der Kassen-Zusage beim Arzt eine Vorauszahlung macht, akzeptiert den Preis.

Noch Fragen oder Ratschläge aus eigener Erfahrung? Diskutieren Sie mit betroffenen Frauen in unserem Forum.