Health insurance

Newcomers (immigrating to Switzerland)


Useful information about basic health insurance

Once you have registered at the residents' registration office, you have 3 months to take out mandatory basic health insurance. If you apply for insurance within this period, you are covered as of the date you took up residence in Switzerland. Premiums for this time must also be paid retroactively within this period. If you miss the deadline, coverage will not start until after conclusion. Additionally, an extra charge will be levied for late registration.

Basic insurance benefits are consistent among all health insurance providers. With a few exceptions, dental treatment is not covered by basic insurance.

Savings opportunities:
  • If already insured for accidents by an employer, accident coverage can be withdrawn.
  • Besides standard basic insurance, some providers also offer savings models such as the Telmed, family doctor or HMO model. These models allow you to save up to 25% on premiums.
  • You can also save by raising your deductible.
  • Furthermore, in Switzerland individuals with a low income are entitled to a premium reduction.
  • The amount of premiums you will have to pay generally depends on your future place of residence. Please note that Switzerland uses the system of per-capita premiums. This means that the premium for a family of four is composed of two adult and two child premiums.
  • You can make a personal premium comparison for basic insurance here.
What you need to know about supplemental insurance

Unlike with basic insurance, benefits of supplemental insurance vary depending on the provider. There are two categories: supplemental outpatient insurance and supplemental hospital insurance. For supplemental health insurance, providers may set their premiums according to risk, i.e. depending on the holder's age and gender. They may also impose provisos.

Supplemental outpatient insurance may include additional coverage for alternative medicine, medication not covered by basic insurance and psychotherapy performed by therapists without medical training. Furthermore, there are supplementary insurance products covering:

  • measures to promote health such as memberships or passes for gyms, swimming pools, etc.
  • immunisation and travel vaccinations
  • balneotherapy and convalescent care
  • home nursing services and domestic help
  • glasses and contact lenses
  • medical accessories and devices
  • emergency transport and transfer transport as well as rescue and salvage costs
  • cost of dental treatment, corrective dentistry and maxillofacial surgery
  • treatment abroad (also temporary during holidays)

All of these benefits are usually limited to a certain maximum amount per calendar year.

Hospital insurance covers inpatient treatment:

The supplemental insurance for general ward throughout Switzerland covers any extra costs incurred during a stay at a hospital outside the canton of residence. On 1 January 2012, a new hospital financing regime was introduced. Since then, basic insurance and the canton of residence have fully covered hospital treatment in another canton if the hospital in question is on a hospital list and the costs (per-case flat rate) are no higher than they would have been in the canton of residence. If the per-case rate exceeds the corresponding rate in the canton of residence, it has to be paid by the patient or his/her supplemental insurance. This supplement may still be worthwhile for inhabitants of cantons with low hospital costs who wish to be treated in another canton. As before, basic insurance still covers all treatment that is not available in the canton of residence (transplants, for instance) as well as emergency treatment.

Supplemental insurance for semi-private care throughout Switzerland covers the policyholder for a two-bed room. In public hospitals, it is usually the senior physician who is responsible for the treatment of semi-privately insured policyholders.

Supplemental insurance for private care throughout Switzerland covers the policyholder for a one-bed room. In public hospitals, it is usually the chief physician who is responsible for the treatment of privately insured policyholders.

Flex models: alternatives to hospital insurance. Holders choose a ward upon admission. This supplemental health insurance covers all treatment in the general ward throughout Switzerland; if private or semi-private treatment is desired, patients have to pay a previously specified amount or percentage out of pocket.

Hotel models offer the comfort of a one- or two-bed room without free choice of doctor.

Some insurance models limit the choice of hospitals to a list defined by the insurance company, which leads to lower premiums.

Comparis
Newsletter
de

Versicherungen

Auto & Motorrad

Immobilien

Kredit & Hypotheken

Preisvergleich

Gesundheit & Vorsorge

Weitere Services

Comparis

Menü

VersicherungenKrankenkasseGlossar
Krankenkasse

Zuzüger (künftiger Wohnsitz in der Schweiz)

Wissenswertes zur Grundversicherung

Wenn Sie sich bei der Einwohnerkontrolle angemeldet haben, bleiben Ihnen 3 Monate, um die obligatorische Krankenversicherung (Grundversicherung) abzuschliessen. Bei einer Anmeldung innerhalb dieser Frist sind Sie ab Datum der Wohnsitznahme versichert. Ebenfalls auf diesen Termin müssen die Prämien rückwirkend bezahlt werden. Verpassen Sie den Termin, gilt der Versicherungsschutz erst ab Beitritt. Ausserdem wird für die verzögerte Anmeldung eine Gebühr verrechnet.

Die Leistungen der Grundversicherung sind bei allen Krankenkassen gleich. Zahnbehandlungen sind mit wenigen Ausnahmen nicht durch die Grundversicherung gedeckt.

Sparmöglichkeiten:
  • Wer durch einen Arbeitgeber gegen Unfall versichert ist, kann die Unfalldeckung ausschliessen.
  • Neben der Standard-Grundversicherung führen einige Krankenkassen auch Sparmodelle wie das Telmed-, das Hausarzt- oder das HMO-Modell. Mit diesen Modellen können bis 25% Prämien gespart werden.
  • Profitieren kann man darüber hinaus durch eine Erhöhung der Franchise.
  • Einkommensschwache Personen haben in der Schweiz zudem das Recht auf Prämienverbilligung.
  • Die Prämien sind generell abhängig vom künftigen Wohnort. Beachten Sie bitte, dass in der Schweiz das System der Kopfprämie gilt. Die Prämie für eine vierköpfige Familie setzt sich also aus zwei Erwachsenenprämien und zwei Kinderprämien zusammen.
  • Machen Sie hier Ihren persönlichen Prämienvergleich für die Grundversicherung.

Was Sie über Zusatzversicherungen wissen sollten

Im Gegensatz zur Grundversicherung sind die Leistungen in den Zusatzversicherungen von Krankenkasse zu Krankenkasse verschieden. Sie lassen sich in die Kategorien ambulante Zusatzversicherungen und Spitalzusatzversicherungen unterteilen. Bei den Zusatzversicherungen können die Krankenkassen die Prämien risikogerecht, d.h. abgestuft nach Alter und Geschlecht gestalten. Sie dürfen auch Vorbehalte anbringen.

Die ambulanten Zusatzversicherungen decken beispielsweise Leistungen für Alternativmedizin, Nicht-Pflichtmedikamente und Psychotherapie durch Psychologen ohne ärztliche Ausbildung. Weiter werden Versicherungen angeboten für:

  • Massnahmen zur Gesundheitsvorsorge wie Abonnemente für Fitnesscenter, Hallenbäder etc.
  • Schutzimpfungen und Impfungen vor Reisen
  • Bade- und Erholungskuren
  • Hauskrankenpflege und Haushalthilfen
  • Brillen und Kontaktlinsen
  • Hilfsmittel
  • Notfall- und Verlegungstransporte sowie Rettungs- und Bergungskosten
  • Zahnbehandlungskosten, Zahnstellungskorrekturen und Massnahmen der Kieferchirurgie
  • Behandlungen im Ausland (auch temporär für Ferienaufenthalte)

Alle diese Leistungen sind in der Regel auf einen Maximalbetrag pro Kalenderjahr begrenzt.

Die Spitalversicherungen übernehmen stationäre Leistungen:

Die Zusatzversicherung allgemeine Abteilung ganze Schweiz deckt allfällige Mehrkosten bei einem Spitalaufenthalt ausserhalb des Wohnkantons. Seit 1. Januar 2012 gilt die neue Spitalfinanzierung. Seitdem werden ausserkantonale Spitalaufenthalte von der Grundversicherung und dem Wohnkanton vollständig übernommen, wenn das Spital auf einer Spitalliste aufgeführt ist und die Kosten (Fallpauschale) nicht höher sind als im Wohnkanton. Ist die Fallpauschale höher als im Wohnkanton, gehen sie zu Lasten des Patienten oder dessen Zusatzversicherung. Gerade für Bewohner von Kantonen mit tiefen Spitalkosten, die sich ausserkantonal behandeln lassen wollen, kann sich der Zusatz weiter lohnen. Wie bis anhin werden Behandlungen von der Grundversicherung bezahlt, die im Wohnkanton nicht durchführbar sind (z.B. Transplantationen) oder wenn es sich um einen Notfall handelt.

Bei der Zusatzversicherung halbprivate Abteilung ganze Schweiz hat der Versicherte Anspruch auf die Versorgung in einem Zweibettzimmer. In den öffentlichen Spitälern ist in der Regel der Oberarzt für die Behandlung der halbprivat Versicherten zuständig.

Bei der Zusatzversicherung private Abteilung ganze Schweiz hat der Versicherte Anspruch auf die Versorgung in einem Einbettzimmer. In den öffentlichen Spitälern ist in der Regel der Chefarzt für die Behandlung der privat Versicherten zuständig.

Flex-Modelle: Variante der Spitalversicherung. Die Wahl der Spitalabteilung erfolgt erst beim Spitaleintritt. Für die allgemeine Abteilung ganze Schweiz deckt diese Zusatzversicherung die vollen Kosten, für die Halbprivat- oder Privatabteilung beteiligen sich die Versicherten im von der Krankenkasse festgelegten Umfang an den zusätzlichen Kosten.

Hotellerie-Modelle bieten den Komfort eines 1- oder 2-Bett-Zimmers ohne freie Arztwahl.

Bei einigen Versicherungsmodellen ist die Spitalwahl auf eine kasseneigene Liste eingeschränkt, was zu günstigeren Prämien führt.

 

Ob Grund- oder Zusatzversicherung

Finden Sie die optimale Krankenkasse
Jetzt vergleichen