Property search and moving

Beware of fake listings! How to avoid falling prey to fraudsters

INFORMATION
|
It is suspicious when keys are handed over by post for the recipient to go and inspect the apartment. Source: iStock / shironosov

Too cheap to be true: Swindlers try to lure house hunters in property portals with would-be dream homes. comparis.ch explains how to recognise fake listings.

Imagine you wish to inspect an apartment and you are asked to make a security deposit of a whopping 2000 francs in order to receive the key by post. You are sceptical? Very good! Unfortunately, not everybody looking for a new home realises that this is the work of cunning swindlers. Those who fall for the trick wait for the key in vain.

3-room apartment in Zurich for 600 francs

The conditions with which the tricksters bait their victims often sound terribly tempting – especially to those who have been inspecting innumerable apartments for months on end.

The listings could say something like: 3.5-room apartment of 100 square metres in Zug for a mere 800 francs per month. Or what do you think of this: 3 rooms with 95 square metres in the Zurich Niederdorf for 600 francs? The people behind such incredible bargains are usually fraudsters trying to trick their victims into paying a "key deposit" or other fictitious amounts.

But watch out: In recent months, comparis.ch has noted that fraudsters are constantly refining their tricks and are now capable to create very realistic and authentic-looking listings or re-use real old listings. The contact data of the swindlers are then added to these listings.

This is how the the scam works

  • First the perpetrators list apartments at what appear to be unbeatable prices using existing addresses – mainly in large cities such as Zurich, Basel, Bern or Geneva – and fictitious contact persons. In order to be able to place these listings, they use middlemen to provide them with bank accounts and Swiss mobile phone numbers.
  • The listings are usually published on weekends. The swindlers probably hope that they can thus skirt controls by the property portals. By the time their scam is exposed on Monday, a few victims might already have fallen into their trap.
  • The rent is usually way below local standards – the apartments are usually offered at an unbeatable price for which, legitimately, you would barely get a broom closet. Immigrants not yet familiar with price levels in Switzerland are at a particular risk of falling for such fake listings.
  • The photos often only show the interior, but not views from outside or the street. Sometimes, the same pictures are even re-used for several fake listings. So be careful if you feel like you have seen something before.
  • Interested persons receive an e-mail, usually written in poor German or French, in which the would-be apartment owner writes that he is currently abroad. Instead he offers to send the key by post for the victim to inspect the apartment on his or her own. As a safety measure he requests payment of a deposit of two to three monthly rents, explaining that, if one did not like the apartment, one could simply return the key and get a refund of the deposit in turn.
  • The swindlers take the money of the deposit and their victims wait for the letter with the key in vain.

How does comparis.ch fight fraud?

Our listings are checked on a regular basis and removed if they seem suspicious. Just as other property portals, comparis.ch makes a point of detecting fraudulent listings and deleting them as quickly as possible. Do not hesitate to report suspicious listings to info@comparis.ch

Have you already fallen for the scam?

We would be glad to help you. Specific cases may help to induce the public prosecutor to investigate against the perpetrators and put a stop to their doings. This would not only help you and us, but also thousands of other people looking for an apartment in Switzerland.

If you discover a fraudulent listing, please report it to our customer service: 

Telephone: +41 44 360 52 62
info@comparis.ch

Thank you very much for your assistance.

Wohnungssuche & Umzug

Vorsicht, Fake-Inserate! So fallen Sie nicht auf Betrüger herein

INFO
|
Schlüsselübergaben für eine Wohnungsbesichtigung per Post sind verdächtig.

Zu billig, um wahr zu sein: Mit vermeintlichen Traumwohnungen locken Betrüger Wohnungssuchende auf Immobilien-Plattformen im Internet. Wie man Fake-Inserate erkennt, erklärt comparis.ch.

Satte 2000 Franken als Kaution dafür, dass man den Hausschlüssel für eine Wohnungsbesichtigung per Post zugeschickt bekommt. Sie schütteln ungläubig den Kopf? Richtig! Leider erkennen nicht alle Wohungssuchenden, dass hier gewiefte Betrüger am Werk sind. Wer dann darauf hereinfällt, wartet aber vergeblich auf seinen Schlüssel.

3 Zimmer in Zürich für 600 Franken

Die Wohnungsofferten, mit denen die Gauner ihre Opfer ködern, klingen oft traumhaft verlockend  – vor allem, wenn man bereits einen monatelangen Besichtigungsmarathon hinter sich hat.

Die Anzeigen lesen sich beispielsweise so: Eine 3,5-Zimmer-Wohnung mit 100 Quadratmetern in Zug für schlappe 800 Franken im Monat. Oder wie wäre es damit: 3 Zimmer mit 95 Quadratmetern im Zürcher Niederdorf für 600 Franken? Hinter solchen konkurrenzlos billigen Angeboten stecken meist Betrüger, die ihren Opfern eine «Schlüsselkaution oder andere fiktive Beträge abluchsen wollen.

Aber Vorsicht: In den letzten Monaten hat comparis.ch festgestellt, dass die Betrüger immer raffinierter werden und mittlerweile auch sehr realitätsnahe, echt aussehende Inserate erstellen oder alte, echte Inserate wiederverwenden. Diese Inserate werden dann mit den Kontaktdaten der Betrüger versehen.

So gehen die Betrüger vor

  • Es beginnt mit vermeintlichen Top-Inseraten für Wohnungen, hauptsächlich in grossen Städten wie Zürich, Basel, Bern oder Genf, mit real existierenden Adressen und fiktiven Kontaktpersonen. Damit die Betrüger ihre Anzeigen überhaupt schalten können, legen sie sich über Mittelsmänner Kontoverbindungen und in der Schweiz registrierte Mobilfunknummern zu.
  • Aufgeschaltet werden die Inserate meist an Wochenenden. Offenbar erhoffen sich die Betrüger, dass sie so der Kontrolle durch die Immobilienportale entgehen. Bis sie montags auffallen, sind dann möglicherweise schon einige Opfer auf ihre Masche hereingefallen.
  • Der Mietpreis liegt meist weit unter den ortsüblichen Mieten – ein konkurrenzloser Preis, für den es seriös allenfalls eine grössere Besenkammer gibt. Gerade Einwanderer, die mit dem Preisniveau in der Schweiz weniger vertraut sind, laufen Gefahr, auf solche Anzeigen hereinzufallen.
  • Die Fotos zeigen oftmals nur Innenansichten, keine Aussen- und Strassenansichten. Es kommt auch vor, dass die gleichen Bilder für mehrere Betrugsinserate verwendet werden. Also Vorsicht, wenn Ihnen ein Motiv bereits bekannt vorkommt.
  • Interessenten erhalten eine E-Mail in meist fehlerhaftem Deutsch. Darin gibt der vermeintliche Wohnungsbesitzer an, sich gerade im Ausland aufzuhalten. Er bietet aber an, den Schlüssel für eine Wohnungsbesichtigung per Post zu schicken. Zur Sicherheit bittet er vorab um eine Kaution in der Höhe von zwei bis drei Monatsmieten. Bei Nichtgefallen der Wohnung solle man den Schlüssel zurücksenden und im Gegenzug werde die Kaution rückerstattet.
  • Die Betrüger kassieren die Kaution und die Opfer warten vergeblich auf die Schlüssel-Post.

Was macht comparis.ch gegen die Betrüger?

Die Inserate werden regelmässig kontrolliert und, sofern verdächtig, gelöscht. Wie andere Immobilien-Portale legt comparis.ch grossen Wert darauf, Betrügeranzeigen aufzuspüren und diese so schnell wie möglich zu löschen. Scheuen Sie sich nicht, uns verdächtige Anzeigen unter info@comparis.ch zu melden! 

Sie sind bereits auf die Masche hereingefallen?

Wir unterstützen Sie gerne. Konkrete Fälle können helfen, dass die Staatsanwaltschaft gegen die Betrüger ermittelt und ihnen das Handwerk legt. Damit ist nicht nur Ihnen und uns geholfen, sondern tausenden Schweizer Wohnungssuchenden.

Sollten Sie ein betrügerisches Inserat entdecken, melden Sie sich bitte bei unserem Kundendienst: 

Telefon: +41 44 360 52 62
info@comparis.ch

Herzlichen Dank für Ihre Mithilfe.