Mortgages

Mortgage Barometer for the fourth quarter of 2017 – signs point to an increase

ANALYSIS
|
Interest rates for fixed-rate mortgages are on the rise. Source: iStock

At the beginning of the year, the rates for fixed mortgages remained steady at around the level of the previous quarter. Since then, signs that rates are set to rise have been building. A glance at the interest rate swap for ten-year fixes confirms this. It has been rising sharply since mid-December, which indicates that hedging costs are continuing to go up. Demand for medium-term mortgage terms grew appreciably in the last quarter. These were the results of the latest Mortgage Barometer provided by comparis.ch.

Rates for ten-year fixes were 0.02 per cent lower than in the previous quarter – down to 1.45 per cent by the end of the fourth quarter. Benchmark rates for medium terms were slightly higher than in the previous quarter – lying at 1.07 per cent at the end of the third quarter, they moved up to around 1.10 per cent at the beginning of the year. The rate applied to short-term mortgages remained virtually unchanged. At the end of the quarter, it was 0.96 per cent – a mere 0.01 per cent higher than in the previous quarter.

 

More and more signs pointing to a rate increase

Given the low level of interest rates, now seems like a good time to take out a mortgage. “The rosy economic outlook for Switzerland and Europe, together with the announcement by the European Central Bank that it will gradually scale back its bond purchase programme and probably raise interest rates in 2019, could persuade the Swiss National Bank to increase its rates too in the foreseeable future,” explains Marc Parmentier, banking expert at comparis.ch.

Borrowers clearly agree with this prediction. The interest rate swap for ten-year fixed-rate mortgages has climbed steeply since mid-December, which is a sure sign that borrowers are expecting a hike in rates.

Even if mortgages are cheap to get right now thanks to low interest rates, it's still worth negotiating conditions with mortgage lenders. “Mortgages involve large sums of money. All the more reason not to settle for the first best offer you receive. At the moment, with some effective negotiation, borrowers can net themselves a ten-year fixed-rate mortgage at a rate of 1.2 per cent,” says Parmentier.

 

Shift towards medium repayment terms

Although long repayment terms are still the most popular among borrowers, their share of demand continues to drop. Compared to the previous year, demand for long repayment terms is almost ten per cent lower (pro rata), currently lying at just under 79 per cent. A year ago this number was still 88 per cent. This proportionate fall in demand occurred to the benefit of medium repayment terms, whose popularity is increasing. At the moment, 18 per cent of mortgages taken out have a medium repayment term. This represents a growth of 7.5 percentage points compared to the previous year.

Short terms have become less attractive. Demand for these repayment terms, which had increased over the course of last year, saw a slight drop in the last quarter. Three per cent of fixed-rate mortgages taken out have a repayment term of less than four years, whereas in the previous quarter, their share of overall demand was holding steady at 3.7 per cent.

Hypothek

Hypotheken-Barometer 4. Quartal 2017: Zeichen stehen auf Anstieg

ANALYSE
|
Die Zinsen für Festhypotheken steigen. Bild: iStock

Die Zinsen für Festhypotheken bewegen sich zu Jahresbeginn etwa auf dem Niveau des Vorquartals. Derweil mehren sich die Anzeichen für einen Zinsanstieg. Dies zeigt ein Blick auf den Interest Rate Swap für zehnjährige Festhypotheken. Dieser ist seit Mitte Dezember stark angestiegen und deutet darauf hin, dass die Absicherungskosten weiter zunehmen. Die Nachfrage nach mittleren Laufzeiten hat im vergangenen Quartal spürbar angezogen. Dies geht aus dem aktuellen Hypobarometer von comparis.ch hervor.

Zehnjährige Festhypotheken werden um 0,02 Prozentpunkte tiefer verzinst als im Vorquartal und liegen per Ende des vierten Quartals bei 1,45 Prozent. Leicht höher als im Vorquartal notieren die Richtzinsen für mittlere Laufzeiten: Lagen diese per Ende des dritten Quartals noch bei 1,07 Prozent, bewegen sie sich zu Jahresbeginn um 1,10 Prozent. Praktisch unverändert zeigt sich das Zinsniveau für kurze Laufzeiten. Dieses liegt per Quartalsende bei 0,96 Prozent und notiert somit nur 0,01 Prozentpunkt höher als im Vorquartal.

 

Anzeichen für Zinsanstieg mehren sich

Aufgrund der tiefen Zinsen scheint die Aufnahme einer Hypothek zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt günstig. «Die rosigen Konjunkturaussichten für die Schweiz und Europa sowie die Ankündigung der Europäischen Zentralbank, sich langsam vom Anleihekaufprogramm zu verabschieden und die Zinsen voraussichtlich 2019 anzuheben, könnten auch die Schweizerische Nationalbank in absehbarer Zeit zu einem Zinsanstieg bewegen», erklärt Marc Parmentier, Banken-Experte bei comparis.ch.

Dies sehen offenbar auch die Hypothekarnehmer so. So zeigt der Interest Rate Swap für zehnjährige Festhypotheken seit Mitte Dezember steil nach oben. Ein Zeichen dafür, dass die Hypothekarnehmer steigende Zinsen erwarten.

Auch wenn Hypotheken aufgrund der tiefen Zinsen derzeit günstig zu haben sind, lohnt es sich, die Konditionen mit den Hypothekaranbietern zu verhandeln. «Bei Hypotheken geht es um viel Geld. Umso mehr zahlt es sich aus, sich nicht mit dem erstbesten Angebot zufriedenzugeben. Hypothekarkunden können heute zehnjährige Festhypotheken um 1,2 Prozent abschliessen, wenn sie gut verhandeln», so Parmentier.

 

Verlagerung hin zu mittleren Laufzeiten

Obwohl lange Laufzeiten bei den Hypothekarnehmern nach wie vor am stärksten gefragt sind, nimmt deren Anteil an der Nachfrage weiter ab. So notiert die Nachfrage nach langen Laufzeiten im Vorjahresvergleich (anteilmässig) fast zehn Prozentpunkte tiefer, und liegt aktuell bei knapp 79 Prozent. Vor einem Jahr waren es noch 88 Prozent. Der anteilmässige Nachfragerückgang erfolgte zugunsten der mittleren Laufzeiten, welche sich zunehmender Beliebtheit erfreuen. So verfügen derzeit 18,5 Prozent der vergebenen Festhypotheken über eine mittlere Laufzeit. Dies entspricht einem Zuwachs von 7,5 Prozentpunkten gegenüber Vorjahr.

An Attraktivität eingebüsst haben kurze Laufzeiten. Die Nachfrage nach kurzen Laufzeiten, die im Verlaufe des vergangenen Jahres noch zugelegt hatte, hat im letzten Quartal einen leichten Rückgang erfahren. Drei Prozent der vergebenen Festhypotheken verfügen über eine Laufzeit von weniger als vier Jahren. Im Vorquartal lag der Anteil der kurzen Laufzeiten an der Gesamtnachfrage noch bei 3,7 Prozent.