Winter

Driving in winter – how to reduce the risk of accidents

TIPS
|
It’s not just snow and ice that can affect the grip of your tyres. Source: iStock / LeManna

Black ice, snow-covered roads, poor visibility – comparis.ch has put together some tips for reducing the risk of accidents in winter.

Wintry driving conditions pose a new challenge each year. The risk of accidents in winter can be reduced considerably if you bear in mind a few points. comparis.ch has compiled the 6 most important tips for you:  

1. Drive on winter tyres from October

Make sure you always drive on winter tyres from October onwards. The performance of summer tyres is adversely affected as soon as the temperature drops to 7 degrees Celsius. It’s not just snow and ice that can affect the grip of your tyres. Increased humidity and cold temperatures are enough to compromise the performance of a summer tyre tread. 

2. Choose your route carefully and allow plenty of time

Better to be safe than sorry when choosing your route: avoid mountain passes and roads with limited winter road maintenance. Bridges and roads shaded by woodland are also especially prone to the rapid formation of black ice and fog. Plan enough time for your journey – many road accidents are triggered by stress. 

3. Avoid areas of migrating wildlife

The risk of damage caused by wild animals is increased from the autumn right through until the mating season in spring. Wild animals are especially active during the twilight hours and often cross sections of road while foraging for food. If you pass through an area known for its migrating wildlife, reduce your speed. This will increase your reaction time should any wild animals cross the road in front of you. If a collision is unavoidable, do not try to swerve. Perform an emergency stop (if possible). 

4. Adapt your driving style to the weather and conditions

If you are faced with poor road conditions and low levels of visibility, drive at a reduced speed and leave a gap of at least 50 metres between you and the vehicle in front of you. Good to know: according to Article 32 (2) of the Federal Road Traffic Act, drivers must reduce their speed in difficult road conditions. Any infringements can result in a report and a fine, especially in the event of an accident.

5. Keep a safe distance

Frost often causes black ice to form. Even winter tyres have trouble gripping the road in these circumstances. This increases braking distance and can cause a vehicle to skid out of control. If you do not keep a safe distance from the vehicle in front, any sudden braking manoeuvre will almost inevitably lead to a rear-end collision.   

6. Drive with dipped headlights

It is compulsory for motor vehicles to drive with dipped headlights during the day. Cyclists are also required to ride with lights in the dark, during twilight hours and when riding through tunnels. If you are out and about without a car, wear clothing that is as bright as possible, ideally with some reflective material.

If, despite taking extra care, you still have an accident, then our article on what to do in the event of an accident may be helpful.

What precautions do you take in winter? Discuss this topic with other road users in our Community

Winter

Autofahren im Winter: So halten Sie das Unfallrisiko gering

TIPPS
|
Nicht nur Schnee und Glatteis verlangen der Reifenhaftung einiges ab. Bild: iStock / LeManna

Glatteis, schneebedeckte Strassen, schlechte Sichtverhältnisse: comparis.ch gib Tipps zur Risikoreduktion im Winter.

Die winterlichen Fahrverhältnisse sind jedes Jahr eine neue Herausforderung. Das Unfallrisiko im Winter können Sie unter Berücksichtigung einiger Punkte bedeutend mindern. comparis.ch hat für Sie die wichtigsten 6 Tipps zusammengefasst:  

1. Ab Oktober mit Winterreifen fahren

Fahren Sie unbedingt ab Oktober mit Winterreifen. Die Leistung der Sommerreifen nimmt bereits bei einer Aussentemperatur von 7 Grad Celcius ab. Nicht nur Schnee und Glatteis verlangen der Reifenhaftung einiges ab. Auch die erhöhte Luftfeuchtigkeit und kalte Temperaturen verursachen eine Leistungsminderung des Sommerreifenprofils. 

2. Route vorsichtig wählen und genügend Zeit einplanen

Seien Sie lieber vor-  als nachsichtig bei der Routenwahl: Vermeiden Sie Bergpassagen und Strecken mit eingeschränktem Winterdienst. Vor allem Abschnitte wie Brücken und schattige Waldstücke neigen zu einer raschen Bildung von Glatteis und Nebel. Planen Sie für Ihre Route genügend Zeit ein – viele Unfälle auf der Strasse werden durch Stress provoziert. 

3. Gebiete mit Wildwechsel meiden

Das Risiko für Wildschäden steigt ab Herbst bis in die Paarungszeit im Frühling. Wildtiere sind besonders zur Dämmerungszeit aktiv und überqueren für die Futtersuche vermehrt Strassenabschnitte. Passieren Sie ein für Wildwechsel bekanntes Gebiet? Reduzieren Sie Ihre Fahrgeschwindigkeit. So haben Sie im Falle eines Wildwechsels genügend Reaktionszeit. Weichen Sie einer unumgänglichen Kollision nicht aus. Leiten Sie (wenn möglich) eine Vollbremsung ein. 

4. Fahrstil den Wetter- und Umgebungsbedingungen anpassen

Fahren Sie bei schlechten Strassen- und Sichtverhältnissen mit reduzierter Geschwindigkeit und einem Abstand von mindestens 50 Metern zum nächsten Fahrzeug. Gut zu wissen: Gemäss Strassenverkehrsgesetz Artikel 32 Absatz 2 ist bei erschwerten Bedingungen auf der Strasse die Geschwindigkeit zu reduzieren. Zuwiderhandlungen haben besonders im Fall eines Unfalls eine Verzeigung mit Busse zur Folge.

5. Sicherheitsabstand einhalten

Frost verursacht oft spiegelglatte Oberflächen. Selbst Winterreifen bieten unter diesen Umständen schlechte Haftung. Das führt zu längeren Bremswegen und unkontrolliertem Schlittern. Ungenügender Sicherheitsabstand endet bei plötzlichen Bremsmanövern fast zwangsläufig in einem Auffahrunfall.   

6. Mit Abblendlicht fahren

Das Fahren mit Abblendlicht am Tag ist für Motorfahrzeuge obligatorisch. Auch für Fahrradfahrer besteht eine Lichtpflicht bei Dunkelheit, Dämmerung und in Tunnels. Sind Sie ohne Auto im Strassenverkehr unterwegs? Dann tragen Sie möglichst helle Kleidung, vorteilsweise mit angebrachten Reflektoren.

Ist es trotz aller Vorsicht zu einem Schaden gekommen? Dann hilft Ihnen unser Artikel zum Vorgehen im Schadensfall.

Wie sorgen Sie im Winter vor? Diskutieren Sie mit anderen Verkehrsteilnehmern in unserer Community

 

Diese Artikel könnten Sie ebenfalls interessieren:

Wie viel Geld bekomme ich für einen Totalschaden von der Versicherung zurück?
«Kann ich meine Autoversicherung trotz Leasing nach einem Schaden wechseln?»
Worauf sollte ich beim Winterreifenkauf achten?