Insurance

Study reveals motorists are throwing away 1.1 billion francs

STUDY
|
Why the roads are paved with money for car insurers Source: istock

The roads are paved with money. Lots of money. More than a billion francs. Right outside your front door. Because nine out of ten Swiss drivers are paying over the odds for their car insurance – an average of 254 francs per year too much. We take a look at the reasons why. 

Today, 90 per cent of motorists are still paying too much for their insurance. By comparing almost 350,000 vehicle insurance comparisons between January 2016 and June 2017, analysts at the Internet comparison service comparis.ch calculated potential savings on insurance policies of some 254 francs per policyholder. Applying this to every Swiss car insurance policyholder produces a total of some 1.1 billion francs that could be saved on vehicle insurance policies each year. 

comparis.ch had already studied how much motorists could save on car insurance back in 2002. This analysis of around 700,000 premium calculations revealed that 19 out of 20 car owners were overpaying on their insurance. The latest study by the Comparis data specialists shows that almost 18 out of 20 policyholders are still paying more than they need to and not exploiting the opportunity to make savings. But why is this the case?

Insurance often a mere afterthought

Many motorists are so keen to get the number plates for their new car quickly and with as little fuss as possible that they let the car dealer take care of the insurance. Or they contact their longstanding broker, instead of trying to find the best deal themselves. According to Harry H. Meier, automotive expert at Comparis, this is why many motorists are not getting the best value from their insurance: “For many people, buying a car is a highly emotional business. Not many want to bother with the tedious matter of insurance. But they pay dearly for this careless attitude in the form of excessive premiums.”


Methodology and sources

The study was based on an analysis of some 350,000 insurance comparisons, which were performed at comparis.ch during the period from January 2016 to June 2017. In total, the analysts identified that savings could be made on around 300,000 of these comparisons (88 per cent). When averaged out across all comparisons, this amounted to a theoretical saving of 254 francs on each policy.

Sources:

-  Premium volumes for motor vehicle insurance 2016: Swiss Insurance Association (SVV) (not available in English)

- Stock of vehicles in Switzerland 2016: Federal Statistical Office (FSO)

Versicherung

Studie offenbart: Autofahrer verschenken 1,1 Milliarden Franken

STUDIE
|
Warum lassen Schweizer nur so viel Geld auf der Strasse liegen?

Es liegt Geld auf der Strasse. Viel Geld. Mehr als eine Milliarde Franken. Und das direkt vor der Haustür. Denn: Neun von zehn Schweizern bezahlen zu viel für ihre Autoversicherung. Das sind durchschnittlich 254 Franken pro Jahr. Die Gründe. 

Noch immer bezahlen 90 Prozent der Versicherten zu viel. Analysten des Internet-Vergleichsdienstes comparis.ch errechneten aus knapp 350'000 Motorfahrzeug-Versicherungsvergleichen im Zeitraum von Januar 2016 bis Juni 2017 ein Sparpotenzial bei den Policen von rund 254 Franken pro Versichertem. Umgelegt auf alle Schweizer mit einer Autoversicherung ergibt das eine Summe von rund 1,1 Milliarden Franken, die bei Motorfahrzeugpolicen jährlich eingespart werden könnte. 

Bereits 2002 hat comparis.ch das Sparpotenzial bei Autoversicherungen untersucht. Dazumal hat die Auswertung von rund 700'000 Prämienberechnungen ergeben, dass 19 von 20 Autobesitzern zu viel für ihre Versicherungspolice bezahlen. Die aktuelle Auswertung der Comparis-Datenspezialisten zeigt, dass auch heute immer noch fast 18 von 20 Versicherten zu teuer versichert sind und ihr Sparpotenzial nicht ausschöpfen. Doch woran liegt das?

Freude am Autokauf, Nachlässigkeit bei der Versicherungswahl

Um schnell und unkompliziert an das Nummernschild für das neue Auto zu gelangen, überlassen viele Autokäufer die Versicherungsfrage dem Autohändler. Oder sie wenden sich direkt an ihren langjährigen Versicherungsberater, statt sich selber mit der optimalen Wahl des Angebots auseinander zu setzen. Hierin ist für Harry H. Meier, Automobil-Experte bei comparis.ch, auch der Grund dafür zu suchen, dass viele Automobilisten nicht die für sie günstigste Versicherung wählen: «Für viele Menschen ist der Autokauf ein hochemotionaler Akt. Da möchten sich nur wenige in Versicherungsfragen vertiefen. Diese Nachlässigkeit bezahlen sie allerdings mit einem substanziellen Aufpreis in Form einer überhöhten Prämie.

 

Jetzt mit neuer Autoversicherung sparen

Methodik und Quellen

Für die Auswertung wurden rund 350'000 Versicherungsvergleiche analysiert, die im Zeitraum von Januar 2016 bis Juni 2017 auf comparis.ch durchgeführt wurden. Insgesamt konnten rund 300'000 Vergleiche identifiziert werden (88 Prozent), die ein Sparpotenzial aufweisen. Im Durchschnitt über alle Vergleiche resultiert daraus eine theoretische Ersparnis von 254 Franken auf jeder Police.

Quellen:

-  Prämienvolumen Motorfahrzeugversicherung 2016: Schweizerischer Versicherungsverband (SVV)

- Fahrzeugbestand Schweiz 2016: Bundesamt für Statistik (bfs)